Who will be in the EU’s next unelected politburo?

Following the appointment of the unelected Jean-Claude Juncker at the head of the European Commission, a further 27 unelected commissioners must now be appointed, for the next five years, to their powerful posts in the European Commission. 

The European Commission – from where all EU legislation emanates – is an institution of around 23,000 civil servants managed by these appointed commissioners. While commissioners are nominated by the EU’s 28 member states, they must represent the interests of the EU as a whole when carrying out their duties, be completely independent from their home state, and pledge to respect the EU’s treaties. They serve five-year terms and cannot be removed from their positions by the ballot box.

The timeline for the appointment of the next unelected college of commissioners is as follows:

  • 30 August : EU leaders gather for a European Council summit to discuss top jobs
  • Sept.: New president distributes portfolios within his team of 27 commissioners
  • October: European Parliament votes to approve or reject new Commission College as a whole
  • 1 Nov.: Target date for the new Commission to take office